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Next Wave of “U Drive. U Text. U Pay” to Launch August 3 – August 16 

During the month of August 2016, Bristol PD and law enforcement officers from 

across the state will be using a combination of traditional and innovative strategies to crack down on 

motorists who text and drive.  

This effort is part of a larger campaign by the CT Department of Transportation Highway Safety Office 

and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) to crackdown on motorists who choose 

to text, talk or otherwise distract themselves from the task of driving.  

The last operation, which took place during April 2016, resulted in over 12,000 citations issued to 

motorists who chose to ignore Connecticut’s distracted driving laws. Nearly 50 law enforcement 

agencies including both state and local police are again participating in this operation – aimed at keeping 

Connecticut’s roadways safe. 

In 2014, 3,179 people were killed in crashes involving a distracted driver and an estimated additional 

431,000 were injured in motor vehicle crashes involving a distracted driver.  

Police will be out in force looking to identify, stop, and cite motorists who choose to ignore 

Connecticut’s hand-held mobile phone ban and distracted driving laws. The fines range from $150 for 

the first offense, $300 for the second violation, and $500 for each subsequent violation. 

DOT observations conducted before and after last year’s crackdown showed a significant drop in hand 

held mobile phone use at selected enforcement locations. The observations showed a decrease in 

distracted driving from 9.6% before April 2015, to 7.8% in August 2015. This represents a 23 percent 

drop in phone use at the selected enforcement locations.  

Our goal is simple. We want to save lives by enforcing Connecticut’s tough penalties for distracted 

driving, namely texting while driving.  

While the focused enforcement mobilization will end on April 30, 2016, Bristol officers will continue to 

enforce Connecticut’s hand held mobile phone ban throughout the year.  

Law enforcement’s goal, with your help is to make Connecticut a safe place to live and travel.  
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