Welcome to the Assessor's Office
The Assessor's Office is responsible for maintaining and creating the annual grand list. This list includes real property, personal property, and motor vehicles. All assessments are at 70% of its value in accordance with provisions of the Connecticut General Statutes. Taxes are based on the assessment times the mill rate. The 2018 grand list mill rate is 38.05 mills. Example: ($1,000.00 assessment x mill rate .03805 = $38.50 annual taxes)
Personal property consists of all business movable assets located within the City limits. In general terms, it is everything needed to engage in a business enterprise, excluding land and any improvements thereon. State Statutes require all businesses to file the annual Declaration of Personal Property on or before November 1st. Businesses or individuals owning out of state registered or unregistered motor vehicles pursuant to Connecticut General Statute 12-71(f)(1) must also file a personal property declaration indicating such asset(s) for assessment purposes.
Real Property - Real property is land and building improvements located within the city limits. Search for property.
Vehicles - The department also maintains a motor vehicle list that is developed with the help of the state's Department of Motor Vehicles.
Grand List Components
- Personal Property - Link de-activated 12/15/2017
Online filing Instructions
Register your business using the access code included in your filing invitation correspondence. Follow the set up instructions. Once you have registered, you may continue filing your declaration. When you have completed your on-line submission, you will receive a confirmation e-mail.
Be sure to print a copy of your filing for your records. Please note, if your copy displays “you have not submitted the declaration to the town”, you must go back to Final Submit and follow the instructions to complete your filing.
If you prefer to print a blank declaration form or you are a Manufacturer filing for the “M65” exemption, these forms are available online. Simply enter your Access Code from the invitation letter in the lower left corner of the website and click “print blank declaration”.
Ask a question or report a concern.
Feel free to contact Deputy Assessor, Judith Dick, at firstname.lastname@example.org or 860-584-6243 or any assessment staff at 860-584-6240 with any questions or concerns.